The 7 Chakras

The seven chakras are the centers in our bodies in which energy flows through. Each chakra has a specific location and several unique attributes. A blocked chakra can often be the cause of health or emotional issues; therefore, it is important to be conscious of the health of each chakra before it becomes a more serious or chronic condition. Here is a brief introduction of our chakras!


1. Root Chakra- Muladhara

Location: base of spine in tailbone area

Color: red

Emotions: survival issues such as money and food which may cause anxiety or nightmares.. If in balance, you feel grounded independent, balanced, and financially stable.

Imbalances: low back pain, depression, fatigue, joint pain, poor immune function

Healing: walk around barefoot as much as you can, eat red foods such as strawberries, tomatoes, red peppers, beet root, dance and move your hips, visualize red pouring into your root chakra connecting you to the ground, use essential oils such as cedar, clove, or myrrh

Affirmations: I am secure. I am safe. I am grounded. I belong in this world. I have all that I need. I am where I need to be. I am at peace with my surroundings, with the people and events that occur. I trust more and fear less. I am a divine being of light.

2. Sacral Chakra- Swadhishtana

Location: lower abdomen, right below navel

Color: orange

Emotion: sense of abundance, sexuality, pleasure, well-being, ability to be social, relationships. If balanced, you feel compassionate friendly, vital, and have a sense of belonging.

Imbalances: drug and alcohol abuse, yeast infections, allergies, sexual problems, urinary problems, lack of flexibility

Healing: eat orange foods such as carrots, oranges, melon, papaya, mangos, watch romantic movies, celebrate little achievements in life, be kind to yourself, use essential oils such as sandalwood or ylang ylang

Affirmations: I acknowledge my uniqueness. I am a sensual and creative being. I attract only nurturing relationships into my life. My senses are alive and connected. I embrace life with passion and joy. I am radiantly beautiful, healthy, and strong.

3. Solar Plexus Chakra- Manipura

Location: upper abdomen in the stomach area

Color: yellow

Emotion: self-worth, self-esteem, confidence, personal power, humor. If in balance, you feel energetic, confident, and productive

Imbalances: memory loss, constipation, diabetes, digestive problems, low energy

Healing: get outside in the sun, drink camomile tea, eat yellow food such as corn, pineapple, banana, squash, be aware of who you spend your time with, use essential oils such as camomile or lemon

Affirmations: I do enough. I am more than enough. I accept myself and stand confidently in my power. I am in harmony with all I see. I live with integrity. I am empowered and successful in all my ventures.

4. Heart Chakra- Anahata

Location: center of chest by the heart

Color: green

Emotion: inner peace, ability to love, compassion, joy. If in balance, we are able to forgive and love every human being. You must allow all of your suppressed emotions to be released.

Imbalances: high blood pressure, breast cancer, heart and breathing issues, muscle tension, chest pain

Healing: schedule time to do things for yourself, do things you love, be generous, eat green foods such as green apples, avocados, leafy greens, broccoli, drink green tea, use essential oils such as rose or bergamot

Affirmations: I love myself. I am a being of compassion. I share this love to everyone. I live in balance, with grace and gratitude. I release all fears, concerns, and worries about giving and receiving love. I am one. Love is the answer to everything in life, and I give and receive love effortlessly and unconditionally.

5. Throat Chakra- Vishuddha

Location: your throat

Color: blue

Emotion: communication, trust, holding secrets, will power. If in balance, you feel creative and are able to efficiently communicate

Imbalances: fever, menopause, mood swings, thyroid problems

Healing: sing wherever you can, be honest with others, shine love onto authority figures you have trouble speaking with, listen to sound therapy 384 hz frequency, use essential oils such as lavender, sage, or neroli

Affirmations: I speak my thoughts clearly, with grace and integrity. I am aligned with my highest truth and communicate this with love and honor. I acknowledge the power of my word to create my own reality. I express who I am.

6. Third Eye Chakra- Ajna

Location: forehead between the eyes

Color: indigo

Emotion: intuition, creativity, imagination, wisdom, psychic abilities. When in balance, we are able to think reality into existence and be highly intuitive

Imbalances: sleeping disorders, learning disabilities, delusion, issues with pineal gland

Healing: listen to conversations closely and be present, eat purple foods such as grapes, blackberries, figs, purple carrots, eggplant, sharpen your intellect by using puzzles or brain-training exercises

Affirmations: I see the truth in all situations. I trust my intuition and inner wisdom and follow them. My life is divinely guided and always taking me in the direction that is best for me. I accept my path. I am healing in body, mind, and spirit.

7. Crown Chakra- Sahasrara

Location: very top of your head

Color: violet

Emotion: connection to God, ability to spiritually connect. When in balance, you feel at one with the universe, open minded, connected, thoughtful, intelligent

Imbalances: headaches, rashes, lack of coordination, depression, brain tumors, nervous system disorders

Healing: meditate, pray, read inspirational books, listen to uplifting audio books, consider a detox or fast to energize the crown chakra, drink lots of water, use essential oils such as frankincense

Affirmations: I understand the impermanent nature of reality. I accept and honor the spirit within me and all living things. I invite sacred transformation. I am complete.




No problem can be solved from the same level of consciousness that created it.
— Albert Einstein
Alyssa PereiraComment